Good Evening CLMNWA Family,

You know you’ve been doing this for a long time when the Lord brings you back to something you posted a year ago, and gives you the okay to write a message.  Granted I only posted this back when I was just posting a Scripture of the Day, but today there’s a message attached to this that I think is going to be on time for some of you.

I find the Lord is leading me to verses lately where the majority of the time they talk about one thing, but the Lord is wanting to talk about an entirely different point from the same set of Scriptures.  So, that’s what we’re going to be doing tonight with what the Lord’s lead me to talk about now.

Jesus said to him, “If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.” Immediately the father of the child cried out and said with tears, “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!” – Mark 9:23-24 (NKJV)

As usual when you post these verses most focus in upon the part where the Lord says “all things are possible to him who believes”, but it’s the response of the father of the child here that God is wanting to deal with in this message tonight. Thus, the reason for the title of the message being “Help My Unbelief”.

I love that God has me digging deeper into things, and looking at some verses from a different perspective because that’s how we really get to learn and understand the Word of God.  I mean, we all have to teach the Bible, but when the Lord shows you something different from a passage that you’ve read hundreds of times and allows you to share what He’s teaching you that is one of the fun things about doing this ministry.

I’m going to throw this question out there, and I believe that will give you an idea of where we’re going with this message.  That question is, and it’s highly possible I’m the only one that’s ever been here, but since the Lord is having me write a message on it I’m guessing that there are many of you who are here right now.  That question is what is it that you should be trusting and believing God can and will do in, with, or through your life…but you’re not?  What’s that area of your life that you refuse to lay down at the Lord’s feet because you simply don’t trust Him to take care of what you’re refusing to lay at His feet?

For those of you wondering.  I have a situation that I’m going through that I’m trying to leave at the Lord’s feet, I’m trying to trust Him and believe that it is indeed possible for Him to do above and beyond what I can ask, think, or imagine, but every time I lay it at His feet I pick it right back up again.  In other words, I am attempting to exchange a burden on my heart for His rest, but in order for me to do that I have to lay it at His feet and leave it there.

You know what.  I know why it’s hard for us to do that some times.  The reason it’s hard for us to lay things at His feet is that He doesn’t always share the same sense of urgency about a situation as we do.  We look at a situation, we see it’s a time sensitive situation, and because God doesn’t move in the next minute we think He’s not moving on what we just laid at His feet.  So, because He’s not moving on our time-table or with the same sense of urgency we have we somehow think that He’s incapable or unwilling to help us.  The thing is, what we really need to do (and I’m preaching this to myself right now) is lay whatever it is at Jesus’ feet, and leave it there for Him to deal with in His time.  Jesus says in the beginning of this passage that all things are possible to those who believe, and that means when we lay something at His feet we have to believe and trust that He will deal with it in Him timing.

Listen, 1 Corinthians 15:57 (KJV) tells us that we already have the victory we are seeking Him for through Jesus Christ.  We know that the Bible says that if God is for us there isn’t anyone that can be against us, and that we already have all that we need in Christ. So, what Jesus is saying in the beginning about all things being possible to those who believe…the thing that we are supposed to believe in is Him and His Word.  We all know the Bible says and has proven that God is not a man that He should lie.  So, what God is wanting us to believe isn’t just that He can and will do what we’re seeking…but He wants us to believe HIM.

Friends, I am convinced that one of the most difficult things in the Christian life isn’t living for Him, but doing like Proverbs 3:5-6 says and entrusting Him literally with every area of our lives. One of the things He is constantly dealing with me on is obeying Him with what He wants me to do, and then trusting Him with the results.  You see, it’s my job to trust God, and it’s His job to produce the results I am seeking.  The thing that happens when we don’t trust Him is we put the responsibility of trying to obtain the results we are seeking on our shoulders.

 

If there’s anything I’ve learned in my life is that whenever I refuse to trust God with something those are the things that I make the biggest messes out of because I try to put my hands to the situation, and unlike King Midas everything I touch doesn’t turn to gold it turns into poo.  So, you’d think that I would be more willing to place things in God’s hands, and leave them there…but there are times just like this man with his child I find myself having to say “Lord, I believe in You, but I need You to help my unbelief.”

What are you going through right now that you keep laying at His feet and picking back up?  What is it that you are trying to obey Him and trust Him with the results, but you keep picking it up after you have laid it at His feet?  Let me encourage you as I am encouraging myself with this message to leave whatever it is at His feet, and trust Him with the results because the reality is we already have the victory we’re seeking.  The real truth in all of this is that we’re not waiting for God to move in our situation…God is waiting for us to trust and believe that He’s already done what we need Him to do…and REST in that provision.

Let’s allow the words that most people focus upon be the words that encourage us today as we ask Him to help our unbelief, and I’ll close by giving Jesus the final word.

“If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.”

Let’s ALL take a moment to say the prayer here in this picture, and ask God to help us give Him those things that we’re needing Him to move on, and to trust Him to move in His way and in His time, Amen!?!

Blessings & Grace ~ Pastor B

